Frequently Asked Questions
There are two ways of defining a new geometry: through the 3D GUI or by defining coordinates and connectivity in the input columns at the left side of the screen.
From the 3D GUI: a new node is entered by double clicking on the grid. A single click on the grid starts a new member, that is closed if followed by a double click. Two separated single clicks on the grid start a shell, that again is closed by double clicking.
From the input columns: a new node is defined by clicking in the first column on “Nodes” followed by “New” in the second column. After this, you can insert the global coordinates of the new node. Similarly, a new member is created by clicking on Members -> New and inserting start and end node of the new member. A new shell is created by clicking on Shells -> New and inserting the list of the shell nodes.
Yes, you can access it from the web application by clicking on Help-> Controls. A floating panel will open and remain opened while you try the commands. The list describes also the commands for touchscreen devices.
The internal forces act according to the local reference system of the considered member or shell. The local reference systems can be shown by clicking on the eye icon in the floating panel and checking “local axes”.
It is different in terms of units and orientation.
Shells internal actions are per unit length; for example, the bending moment is measured in kNm/m instead as in kNm.
According to beam theory and to the shell theory, the orientation for bending moments in beams and shells follows different conventions. While in a beam the bending moment (e.g. My) is referred to the local axis about which it is applied, in a shell the bending moment (e.g. Myy) refers to the direction in which bending takes place. More infos on the shell theory can be found here.
You can tune the meshing of the structure from the main menu in the web application interface, by clicking Settings -> Meshing. You can specify either the number of subdivisions or the local length of the elements. Usually, the local length method leads to a more regular mesh.
You can change the default size of the labels from “Settings” in the main menu and by choosing “Graphics”. A different size can be assigned to each type of label.
Sure, from the web application, you only need to click on the camera icon on the floating panel. A resizable rectangle will allow you to define the dimensions of the screenshot. Than, the screenshot can be saved on your device.
By selecting "parametric", you can define the size of your chosen cross-section (e.g. height and width of a rectangular beam). By selecting "general", you can directly define the cross-section properties such as torsional constant and moment of inertia.
Member sections can be defined as "Generic" by providing the cross-section properties (area, moments of inertia, torsion constant, etc.). These values are sufficient to carry out linear elastic calculations, but not to define the actual shape of the cross-section. In extruded view, with the purpose of informing the user about the approximate member size, generic cross-sections are shown as square cross-sections with side length calculated to match the input cross-sectional area.
Yes, you can. In the main menu, click on “Settings” and select “Graphics”. By unchecking “Show floating panel” and “Show view selector", you can hide them from the interface. Please note that for devices with low resolution, such as smartphones, both the floating panel and the view cube are hidden by default.
Yes, clicking on the arrow icon (for loads) or on the eye icon (for structural entities) in the floating panel allows you to hide them by unchecking the right checkbox.
The global reference system is a common reference system valid for the entire structure. All structural entities (member or shells) in the model are defined according to this reference system. Each structural entity has also its own local reference system, that defines its orientation. This local reference system is important to understand the direction of member releases and internal forces in the structure.
When you define a load acting on the structure, you can associate it to a certain load group. All loads in the same load group will share the same multiplying coefficient, if you define a load combination.
In the ACTIONS tab, by clicking on “Load combination” you can define a new load combination by assigning to each selected load group a different multiplying factor. The load groups will be scaled according to the defined multiplying factors and will act simultaneously on the structure.
Sure, it is sufficient to click on the cube icon on the floating panel. To return to the wireframe view, just click again on the cube.
By selecting “Node displacements”, an arrow will show you the displacements only in the nodes of the structure. Node displacements are coincident to member and shell displacements in that particular nodes.
WeStatiX public projects are meant to be shared amongst the community of WeStatiX users in order to provide helpful examples of structural analysis models. If you save your model as a public project, all WeStatiX users will be able to access it, make a copy, and modify it for their personal structural analysis projects. Otherwise, by saving a project as a private project, only you, through your WeStatiX Account, will be able to access that particular project.
Unfortunately you can’t. WeStatiX can be used for free, provided that the models you create can serve the community of WeStatiX users and contribute to the improvement of the web application. By subscribing to a fee-based account you can save projects as private, that will never be accessible from other users.
You can terminate your current subscription from your dashboard. If you downgrade to a less expensive Account during your current subscription, then you must wait until your current subscription expires. During that period, you will have access to the functionalities of your canceled subscription.
You can do it easily from your dashboard, that you access by clicking on “Account” on the main right menu of the web application, or right after logging in. If you upgrade to a more expensive option, you will be charged the difference and the new Account will be effective immediately.
No, this will never happen. All the projects you have saved as private will never become public, even after you cancel or downgrade your fee-based subscription. Anyways, please note that after the move you won’t be able to access your private projects anymore.